Promotion of the Rights Of the Child

  • PDFPrintE-mail

The protection of human rights in general and of children in particular is framed in Cameroon by a legal arsenal consisting of protocols, ratified charters and international conventions, national laws and regulations.
In this wise, it should be noted that the preamble of Law No. 06 of 18 January 1996 amending the 1972 Constitution states that "the human being without distinction of race, religion, sex or creed possesses sacred inalienable rights." In it is also found Cameroon's commitment to fundamental freedoms enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the UN Charter, the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights and all related and duly ratified international conventions.
At the international level, as said by the Head of State, His Excellency Paul Biya at the UN Special Session on Children in 2002, " Cameroon has ratified almost all international legal instruments on the child. "

It may well include but not limited to:

-   The Convention on the Rights of the Child on 11 January 1993;
-   The African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child, 05 September 1996;
-   Convention No. 138 of the ILO Minimum Age for Admission to Employment, 14 April 1998;
-   Convention No. 182 on the Worst Forms of Child Labour, on 27 May 2002;
-  The Optional Protocol to the CRC Protocol of 18 December 1989 on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women, instrument of accession dated December 4, 2004;
- Supplementing the United Nations Convention of 15 November 2000 against Transnational Organized Crime, the Protocol to Prevent, Suppress and Punish Trafficking in Persons, especially women and children. Protocol ratified by Cameroon (the Decree of 18 November 2004).

At the national level,
In addition to its membership in the various above-mentioned international legal instruments, the Government of Cameroon has decided to always put children at the centre of its concerns. That is why it adopted since independence, legislative and regulatory measures critical to the implementation of children's rights, and initiated procedures which are at a very advanced stage. These measures are:
- The Civil Code which regulates the issue of parental responsibility in its articles 1384 and those following.
- The Penal Code in which the protection of children's rights is evident, particularly in the provisions of Articles 29, 39 al.6, 48, 80, 179 (custody of a minor), 340 (infanticide), 341 (attack on descendants), 342 (slavery and pawning) 198 paragraph 1 (b) and (c) (banned publications) and 337 and following articles that deal with the child and family;
- The adoption of Law No. 2005/007 / of 27 July 2005 on the Criminal Procedure Code , which has many favourable provisions for the child who commits or is victim of an offense;
- The adoption of Law No. 2011/024 of 14/12/2011 on the fight against the traffic and trade of persons, repealing Law No. 2005/015 of 29/12/2005 on the fight against the traffic and trade of children;
- Decree No. 2011/408 of 09/12/2011 on the organization of Government, establishing several departments in charge of the promotion and protection of children’s rights. These are, for example, the Ministry of Social Affairs (social protection of the child), the Ministry of Women's Empowerment and the Family (promotion of children's rights), the Ministry of Basic Education (teaching Nursery and General Primary), the Ministry of Secondary Education (technical and general education), the Ministry of Public Health (Prevention and health care to the mother and child), the Ministry of Youth and Education Civic (promotion of leisure and post and extracurricular activities, etc.).
-  Adoption perspective of the law code of individuals and families;
-  Law No. 98/004 of 14 April 1998 on educational guidance which sets the age of compulsory schooling at 14 years;
-  The Labour Code and regulatory acts relating to labour from which children are prohibited;
-  Decree No. 90-524 of 23 March 1990 established a National Commission for Juvenile Delinquents, Abandoned Children or those in Moral Danger;
-  Decree No. 2001/041 of 19 February 2001 on the organization of government schools and establishing the powers of officials of the school administration, which in its article 47 institutes the exemption of annual contributions requested from pupils of government primary schools, to give effect to the gratuity of primary education as decided by the President of the Republic on 10 February 2000.
-  The development of two draft laws on the Child Protection Code ant the of Persons and the Family respectively.
Beyond the above mentioned legal framework, various actions to direct effects were undertaken both by the Cameroonian government and partners. These include programmes for cooperation with international organizations of the United Nations working in the field of promotion and protection of children’s rights: UNICEF, UNESCO, ILO / BIT, the Global Fund, etc..

The extension of the rights of the child
is carried out by:
-  The organization of awareness campaigns during celebrations marking the Day of the African Child (16 June), National Youth Days (February 11) and various other national and local events;
-  The organization since 1998 of sessions of the Children's Parliament with the training of junior parliamentarians on the rights of the child and distribution of various information carriers;
-  Production of 15,000 tapes on the CDE distributed to children in schools and other walks of life during the sensitization campaigns;
-  The production of posters and flyers for public awareness on the violation of children's rights;
-  The organization of several annual editions of Radio and Television Days for children, based on the extension and promotion of the rights of the child;
-  The gradual integration of modules on the teaching of human and children’s rights in school and university curricula;
-  For its part, the translation and dissemination of the CRC in local simplified language faces the problem of the plurality of national languages and illiteracy.

In perspective, the achievement of children's rights calls for:
- The continuation of the ongoing process of the improvement of the national framework by internalizing the provisions of the international legal instruments ratified particularly through the adoption of specific legislative texts and the creation of an autonomous structure in charge of following up the implementation of the said rights;
-  Strengthening the institutional framework for the effective implementation of the relevant texts;
-  Capacity building services and social workers;
-  The continued sensitization of children, their parents and communities on the rights of the child;
-  Strengthening partnerships with civil society and bilateral and multi-lateral cooperation in the protection and promotion of children's rights.

Language

English (UK)

Research

Calender

November 2018
MTWTFSS
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930

Visitors Statistics

mod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_counter
mod_vvisit_counterToday1746
mod_vvisit_counterYesterday1624
mod_vvisit_counterThis week8116
mod_vvisit_counterLast week9158
mod_vvisit_counterThis month20246
mod_vvisit_counterLast month18790
mod_vvisit_counterAll days1008156

Who's Online

We have 64 guests online

Promotion des Droits De L'Enfant

  • PDFImprimerEnvoyer

La protection des droits de l’Homme en général et ceux de l’enfant en particulier est encadrée au Cameroun par un arsenal juridique constitué par les protocoles, Chartes et Conventions internationales ratifiées, les lois et règlements nationaux.

Dans ce sens, il y a lieu de signaler que la loi n°06 du 18 janvier 1996 portant révision de la Constitution de 1972 en son préambule, proclame que «l’être humain, sans distinction de race, religion, de sexe, de croyance, possède des droits inaliénables  sacrés ». Il y est affirmé par ailleurs l’attachement du Cameroun aux libertés fondamentales inscrites dans la Déclaration Universelle des Droits de l’Homme, la Charte des Nations Unies, la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples et dans toutes conventions internationales y relatives et dûment ratifiées.

Au plan international, comme l’affirmait le Chef de l’Etat, Son Excellence Monsieur Paul BIYA au cours de la Session extraordinaire de l’ONU consacrée aux enfants en 2002, «le Cameroun a ratifié la quasi-totalité des instruments juridiques internationaux consacrés à l’enfant. »

On peut ainsi citer de manière non exhaustive :

    -    La Convention relative aux Droits de l’Enfant, le 11 janvier 1993 ;
    -    La Charte Africaines des Droits et du Bien-être de l’Enfant, le 05 septembre 1996;
    -    la Convention n°138 de l’OIT sur l’âge minimum d’admission à l’emploi, le 14 avril 1998;
    -    la Convention n°182 de l’OIT sur l’élimination des pires formes  de travail des enfants, le 27 mai 2002 ;
    -    le protocole facultatif à la CDE du 18 décembre  1989 sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des  femmes, instrument d’adhésion datant du 04 décembre 2004 ;
    -    le protocole additionnel à la convention des Nations unies du 15 novembre 2000 contre la criminalité transnationale organisée, protocole visant à prévenir, réprimer et punir la traite des  personnes, en particulier les femmes et les  enfants. Protocole ratifié par le Cameroun par décret du 18 novembre 2004.

      Au plan national,
      En marge de son adhésion aux divers instruments juridiques internationaux qui précédent,  le Gouvernement  camerounais à toujours placé l’enfant au centre de ses préoccupations. Aussi   a-t-il adopté depuis les indépendances, des mesures législatives et réglementaires déterminantes pour l’application des droits de l’enfant, et enclenché des procédures qui se trouvent à des stades très avancés, Ces mesures sont les suivantes :

      • Le Code Civil qui règle le problème de la responsabilité parentale en ses articles 1384 et suivants.
      • Le Code Pénal dans lequel la protection des droits des enfants est mise en évidence, notamment dans les dispositions des articles 29, 39 al.6, 48, 80, 179 (garde d’un mineur), 340 (infanticide), 341 (atteinte à la filiation), 342 (esclavage et mise en gage) 198 al 1 (b) et (c) (publications interdites) et les articles 337 et suivants qui traitent des atteintes à l’enfant et à la famille ;
      • l’adoption de la loi n°2005/007/ du 27 juillet 2005 portant Code de Procédure Pénale qui comporte de nombreuses dispositions favorables à l’enfant auteur ou victime d’infraction ;
      • l’adoption de la loi n°2011/024 du 14/12/2011 relative à la lutte contre le trafic et la traite des personnes abrogeant la loi n°2005/015 du 29/12/2005 relative à la lutte contre le trafic et la traite des enfants;
      • le décret n°2011/408 du 09/12/2011portant organisation du Gouvernement qui institue plusieurs départements ministériels en charge de la réalisation des droits de l’enfant. Ce sont par exemple le Ministère des Affaires Sociales( protection sociale  de l’enfant), le Ministère de la Promotion de la Femme et de la Famille( promotion des droits de l’enfant), le Ministère de l’Education de Base (enseignement maternel et primaire général), le Ministère des Enseignements Secondaires (enseignements technique et général), le Ministère de la Santé Publique (prévention et soins de santé à la mère et à l’enfant), le Ministère  de la Jeunesse et de l’Education Civique (promotion de loisirs et activités post et périscolaires) etc.
      • l’adoption en perspective de la loi portant code des personnes et de la famille ;
      • la loi n°98/004 du 14 avril 1998 sur l’orientation scolaire qui fixe l’âge de la scolarisation obligatoire à 14 ans ;
      • le code du travail et les actes réglementaires relatifs aux travaux interdits aux enfants;
      • le décret n° 90-524 du 23 mars 1990, crèe une commission nationale pour la protection de l’enfance en danger moral, délinquante ou abandonnée ;
      • Le décret n°2001/041 du 19 février 2001 portant organisation des établissements scolaires publics et fixant les attributions des responsables de l’administration scolaire, qui en son article 47 institue l’exemption des contributions annuelles exigibles aux élèves des écoles primaires publiques pour donner effet à la gratuité de l’école primaire décidée par le Président de la République le 10 février 2000.
      • l’élaboration de deux avant-projets de lois portant respectivement Code de Protection de l’Enfant et Code des Personnes et de la Famille.

      Au-delà du cadre juridique sus évoqué, diverses actions à effets directs ont été entreprises tant par l’Etat  Camerounais que par les partenaires. Il s’agit  notamment des programmes de Coopération avec les organismes internationaux des Nations Unies œuvrant dans le domaine de la promotion et de la protection des droits de l’enfant : l’UNICEF, L’UNESCO, L’OIT/BIT, le Fonds Mondial etc.

      La vulgarisation des droits de l’enfant est réalisée par :

      • L’organisation  des campagnes de sensibilisation lors des journées de l’enfant africain (16 juin), des fêtes nationales de la  Jeunesse (11 février) et d’autres événements nationaux ou locaux divers ;
      • L’organisation depuis 1998 des sessions de  Parlement des Enfants avec formation des députés juniors aux droits de l’enfant et distribution de supports divers ;
      • La production de 15000 bandes dessinées sur la CDE  distribuées aux enfants dans les écoles et autres milieux de vie au cours des campagnes de sensibilisation ;
      • La production des affiches et dépliants pour la sensibilisation populaire sur la violation des droits des enfants ;
      • L’organisation de plusieurs éditions annuelles des journées Radios Télévision (JRTV) pour les enfants, basées sur la vulgarisation et la promotion des droits de l’enfant ;
      • L’intégration progressive des modules sur l’enseignement des droits de l’homme et de l’enfant dans les programmes scolaires et universitaires ;
      • La traduction et la diffusion de la CDE en langage simplifié locale quant à elle, se heurte au problème de la pluralité des langues nationales et à l’analphabétisme.

      En perspective, la réalisation des droits de l’enfant  interpelle :

      • La poursuite de l’amélioration déjà engagée du cadre juridique national  par  l’internalisation des dispositions des instruments juridiques internationaux ratifiés à travers  notamment l’adoption des textes législatifs spécifiques et la création d’une structure autonome chargée du suivi de la mise en œuvre desdits droits.
      • Le renforcement du cadre institutionnel par la mise en œuvre effective des textes y relatifs ;
      • Le renforcement des capacités des services et des  intervenants sociaux ;
      • La poursuite de la vulgarisation des droits de l’enfant tant auprès de ces derniers, de leurs parents que des communautés ;
      • Le renforcement du partenariat avec la société civile et de la coopération bi et multi latérale en matière de protection et  de promotion des droits de l’enfant.

      Langue

      Français (Fr)

      Recherche

      Calendrier

      août 2018
      lmmjvsd
      12345
      6789101112
      13141516171819
      20212223242526
      2728293031

      Statistiques de Visites

      mod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_countermod_vvisit_counter
      mod_vvisit_counterAujourd'hui727
      mod_vvisit_counterHier967
      mod_vvisit_counterCette semaine1694
      mod_vvisit_counterSemaine dernière6839
      mod_vvisit_counterCe mois12770
      mod_vvisit_counterMois dernier19159
      mod_vvisit_counterTotal depuis mai 2011917006

      Qui est en ligne ?

      Nous avons 60 invités en ligne